Exhibition view_Lakhrissi, Brossard _ Vi
Exhibition view_Brossard _ Villard, Sobc
Maison-POP-2020-I'm-from-nowhere-good-02
Exhibition view_Brossard _ Villard, Arne
Exhibition view_Brossard _ Villard, Roqu
Exhibition view_A.K. Burns, Lakhrissi, B
Exhibition view_Glynn, Brossard _ Villar

i’m from nowhere good

exposition collective du 22 janvier au 11 juillet 2020
à la Maison Populaire, Montreuil (FR)


avec Josefin Arnell, Simon Brossard & Julie Villard, Roy Dib, Nash Glynn, Tarek Lakhrissi, Hannah Quinlan & Rosie Hastings, Bruno Pelassy, Luiz Roque et Mikołaj Sobczak. En collaboration avec Caroline Honorien. Performances de Tarek Lakhrissi & Loup, et TON ODEUR (Elodie Petit & Marie Millon).

 

i’m from nowhere good est une exposition collective dont le titre est extrait du morceau Clouds, Chemist And The Angel Gabriel de l'artiste britannique GAIKA. L’exposition cherche à ouvrir un espace de représentation en questionnant les conditions dans lesquelles les vies des minorités de pratiques sexuelles et d’identité de genre sont contraintes de se construire : dans la violence, le refus et l’ostracisme. En abordant les notions de trauma et d’origine, elle entend prendre à bras-le-corps les luttes et les considérations qui affectent les vies queer (la présence persistante de l’épidémie du VIH, les menaces capitalistes envers les écologies globales, le travail affectif à l’ère digitale, les tentations assimilationnistes et l’agenda des luttes LGBTQI+, les politiques répressives, etc.). i’m from nowhere good interroge la notion de placelessness, un mode d’appartenance négative, d’isolation et de déracinement qui situe la question de l’origine dans un non-lieu, tout en soulignant la suffocation générée par les espaces normalisants de la société. En présentant les travaux d’artistes français et internationaux, parmi lesquel·le·s le défunt Bruno Pelassy, l’exposition insiste sur les implications politiques des pratiques artistiques et sociales queer et leurs proposition pragmatiques pour de nouvelles futurités.

 

 


photos : Aurélien Mole
graphisme : Roxanne Maillet

Ce projet est réalisé dans le cadre de la résidence curatoriale de la Maison populaire et grâce à ses partenaires : Ministère de la Culture - DRAC Île-de-France, Conseil régional d’Île-de-France, Conseil départemental de la Seine-Saint-Denis, Ville de Montreuil, CNC - Dicréam et Fluxus Art Projects.

logo-culture-85ade.jpg
93-seine-saint-denis-c7d2d.jpg
IMG_1513-eaacd.jpg
image_gallery-10ebf.gif
fluxus_web-nb-15359.jpg

i’m from nowhere good

groupshow from January 22nd to July 11th, 2020
at Maison Populaire, Montreuil (FR)


with Josefin Arnell, Simon Brossard & Julie Villard, Roy Dib, Nash Glynn, Tarek Lakhrissi, Hannah Quinlan & Rosie Hastings, Bruno Pelassy, Luiz Roque and Mikołaj Sobczak. In collaboration with Caroline Honorien. Performances by Tarek Lakhrissi & Loup, TON ODEUR (Elodie Petit & Marie Millon).

 

i’m from nowhere good is a collective exhibition whose title is borrowed from the lyrics of the song Clouds, Chemists And The Angel Gabriel, written by British artist GAIKA. The show aims to open representational space on the material conditions within which queer lives and minorities’ survival must be built on : violence, refusal, and ostracism. The exhibition questions notions of origins and trauma, along with the struggles affecting queer lives (the lingering presence of the AIDS epidemics, capitalist threats to global ecologies, affective work in the digital age, assimilationist politics and the LGBTQI+ agenda, repressive politics, etc). It addresses the notion of placelessness, a negative mode of belonging amongst uprooting and loneliness that situates the question of origin in a non-place, while underlying the suffocation caused by normalising spaces in societies. Displaying the works of French and international artists, amongst which the late Bruno Pelassy, the exhibition stresses the political implications of queer artistic and social practices and their pragmatic implications for birthing new futurities.

 

 


photo credits: Aurélien Mole
graphic design: Roxanne Maillet

This project is made possible thanks to the curatorial residency of Maison populaire, with the support of Ministère de la Culture - DRAC Île-de-France, Conseil régional d’Île-de-France, Conseil départemental de la Seine-Saint-Denis, Ville de Montreuil, CNC - Dicréam and Fluxus Art Projects.

  • instagram+logo+logo+website+icon-1320190